Good Friday in Monterrubio de la Serena

Good Friday

On Good Friday I attended the Commemoration of the Passion in the local church at Monterrubio de la Serena at 7.30 in the evening. In Australia, the custom is to have the service at 3.00pm. But I guess in Spain there would be no one there at 3.00pm!!

I had met the parish priest the day before and he had invited me to “concelebrate” with him. On the day, I felt it was a bit of a show, that it wasn’t a “Mass” as such but a commemoration of the Passion followed by Communion, so I was happy to sit in the congregation. But when the parish priest arrived he insisted. I obliged. I think he was happy to have an “extra” on show.

I noted that he was about 20 minutes late for the service, but as far as I could tell, he made no apology. I guess time means something different here. Neither did he introduce me, so I am not sure why he was so insistent on my being part of the service. However, I did help with the reverencing of the cross and with the distribution of Holy Communion.

After the formal liturgical service, there was a repeat of the processions of the night before.
image

Leave a Reply

