Merida – Roman Heritage

A further “rest” day in Merida. The irony is, that on a walking day, I walk for 5-6 hours, depending on the distance to the destination (plus exploring the destination). On my so-called “rest” day, I am on my feet for 9 hours or more (admittedly, without a backpack)!!

Managed to get to 9.30am Mass in the Basilica of St Eulalia. Then breakfast and blog. Then explore!

My first stop was the Museum of Roman Art, recommended to me by my brother, James (Thank you for the recommendation!). It certainly has a stunning array and quality of artefacts from the Roman era, pottery, statuary, glassware, ceramics, mosaics, household items, jewelry, coins, religious items, lamps, writing items, inscriptions, funerary items … I will let them speak for themselves:

Imperial Figures

Imperial Figures

Bronze Figure

Bronze Figure

Bust of a Man - very human features, could be someone you or I know.  If he could speak, I wonder what he would say, about his world, about our world?!

Bust of a Man – very human features, could be someone you or I know. If he could speak, I wonder what he would say, about his world, about our world?!

Bust of a Woman - I wonder what she too would say?!!

Bust of a Woman – I wonder what she too would say?!!

Bronze Senator

Bronze Senator

Glassware (from Syria)

Glassware (from Syria)

Mosaic

Mosaic

Even had a statue of a contemporary Australian pilgrim on the Camino di Santiago!!!!!

Even had a statue of a contemporary Australian pilgrim on the Camino di Santiago!!!!!

Then I explored other parts of the city:

The Temple of Diana (so-called because it is a romantic name, but actually dedicated to one of the Roman gods)

The Temple of Diana (so-called because it is a romantic name, but actually dedicated to one of the Roman gods)

Trajan's Arch

Trajan’s Arch

Roman Aqueduct - Amazing Engineering, still standing after nearly 2,000 years!

Roman Aqueduct – Amazing Engineering, still standing after nearly 2,000 years!

Have just enjoyed a bar in a bar while using their wifi to post this. Hope to attend Saturday Vigil Mass in the “Con-Cathedral”, apparently a lower status than a Cathedral, but I have never heard of it.

Will pray for family, relatives, colleagues and other friends.

Tomorrow I walk again. I have walked today, but around Merida. it will be good to walk again and put distance into the walking!

Ultreia!!!

2 thoughts on “Merida – Roman Heritage

  1. James McInerney

    Glad you enjoyed it. I thought it was worth going back to Merida just to see it, and I wasn’t disappointed. Enjoy the next stretch. It’s peaceful easy walking. Bon Camino, James

    Reply
  2. Josie

    Hi Patrick, I’m enjoying your blog.
    The godess Dianna you mentioned was the huntress, Earth and Moon goddess, the Roman version of Artemis. Very popular.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

