Santa Marta de Tera to Rionegro del Puente

imageAnother good day. I walked 27.5kms. It was about 7kms more than I had wanted! I would have loved an early arrival as it was “high” time to do my domestic chores (get the pun? “high”?). The disadvantage of staying in a hostal is that it does not have facilities for washing clothes, and arriving late in the afternoon at an albergue means that there is no time for clothes to dry. There was a stop at about 13kms, too soon. There was a town at about 20km, but no accommodation. So I settled to walk to Rionegro del Puente at 27.5kms.

When I woke in the morning the two women were also stirring, and in fact left before I even saw them. So I basically had another day on my own. An Austrian couple and an Irish woman did catch up with me when I was having a late breakfast in
Calzadilla de Tera (11kms) just after 10.00am. The Austrians overtook me a couple of hours later – the Irish woman had decided to stay at the previous town – but I caught up with them again when they were having lunch in Villar de Farfon. Although we had been only three in the albergue the previous night, I was told that the night before it was full. I was also told that the albergue in the previous town had a lot of pilgrims. I presumed I would meet some of them in the days to come. And so it happened. In Rionegro we are about 10 pilgrims.

I left just after 7.00am. Here is a view of the early morning walk.

image

Even though I had only a day and a half in Salamanca and Zomora, it felt strange to be walking again. This was for several reasons:

1. Terrain: The terrain was different. It was no longer the high country through which I had passed earlier, nor the plains through which I had passed after the Pico de la Duena to Salamanca, and then on the bus to Zamora and beyond. It was somewhere in between, more undulating.

2. Flora: The plants were different. There were stands of ash trees (as in the photo), which looked very attractive. There was also some market gardening in plots along the river.

3. Direction: The direction had changed. After Zamora, on the bus, I had left the Via de la Plata and turned westwards on the Camino Sanabres.

It was a sunny day, little cloud cover, very still, so quite hot. But the walking was pleasant enough. I especially enjoyed the greenery of the trees.

I passed La Barca (6km) in regulation time around 9.00 am.

I continued on to Calzadilla de Tera (5km), which I passed just over an hour later.

I had late breakfast at Olleros de Tera (2km) half an hour later.

At one stage in the morning the camino path followed alongside an irrigation canal.

image

This tree in full bloom caught my attention.

image

During the early part of the morning, I had followed the River Tera, enjoying the greenery alongside the river. But as the morning went on, the path moved away from the river. It went through more what I would call “bush”. But the wild flowers were in bloom.

image

Here is another tree in bloom.

image

After a snack from my backpack (apple, banana, slice of cake) in Villar de Farton around 2.00pm, I continued on for another 6.5kms. It was quite hot, a dirt track through the bush, until eventually I came over a rise and Rionegro del Puente was in sight.

image

I arrived there at 4.00 pm, settled into the albergue, did my washing, had a shower, had a meal, and hope to attend Mass.

At this particular point in my pilgrim journey, having arrived at Rionegro del Puente, I am just under 300 kms to Santiago.
At 20kms per day, it will take 15 days.
At 25 kms per day, it will take 12 days.
The bus ride in one day only from Salamanca to Santa Marta de Tera instead of two days saved me an extra day.
To meet my flight commitments, I need to be in Santiago on or around the 24th of May, so I have in fact 14 days to get there, which will allow for a rest day or two if needed, or shorter days if the path is particularly difficult.
With good health, good weather, good luck, and God’s blessing, I should be able to complete the Camino, having walked 1,000 kms. Please continue to remember me in your prayers as I head westwards towards my destination in the coming fortnight.

Ultreia!
Westwards!!

7 thoughts on “Santa Marta de Tera to Rionegro del Puente

  1. Jenny Belfrage

    Hello Pilgrim Pat – my name is Jenny Belfrage & I’m Denis’ sister-in-law. My sister Annie gave me her iPad this morning so I could read your blog. I very much enjoyed your descriptions and thoughts about your journey and the places, people, happenings, etc which have surrounded you along your way.
    One of my favourite pictures is when you’re having your foot massaged! A pretty good 60th birthday present eh? 🙂
    (Just quietly, I turn 60 this year – where have the bloomin’ years gone!)
    So – onwards and upwards we go Pat – and my life a little richer for having read your blog. Thanks mate! All the best and His blessings upon you as you go.
    Jenny from Warrnambool. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Patrick McInerney Post author

      Jenny, thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed the blog. Denis and Michael have both been very kind to me along the way. Blessings to you now and more in store on Denis’ return! Regards, Patrick

      Reply
  2. Jim

    Hi Patrick
    You are very much in our thoughts as you enter the final stages of your pilgrimage.
    Make sure you plan to include a couple of days to explore Santiago itself. As I mentioned previously, there are a couple of museums there that are worth a visit – not to mention the fabulous bars, tapas and restaurants! Keep up the good work Pilgrim Pat! Everyone here is very proud of your accomplishments to date.
    Cheers
    Jim and James

    Reply
  3. Lorraine Murphy

    Way to go, Patrick! Thoroughly enjoying your journal and love your humour.

    Well done and YES continuing to hold you in prayer.

    Greetings from The Murphy’s – Lorraine & Peter

    Reply

Leave a Reply

