New Beginning

In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit, Amen.

I began this journey in the name of the Most Holy Trinity. I wish to ‘conclude’ this journey in the same way.

My travels over the past five and a half months were a pilgrimage/sabbatical/holiday. I visited Dubai, Pakistan, Romania, Italy, Spain, Israel and Jordan. There were rich and varied experiences in each place. My thanks to all who hosted me and were kind to me along the way.

During the course of my travels I visited three of the four great Christian pilgrimage centres of the mediaeval world (and up to the present). These were Rome,

St Peter's Basilica, Vatican City

St Peter’s Basilica, Vatican City

Santiago de Compostella
The Santiago Cross (Cross of St James)

The Santiago Cross (Cross of St James)

and Jerusalem.
The Jerusalem Cross

The Jerusalem Cross


The fourth one that I missed was Canterbury Cathedral. Another time?

I give thanks to God for all the rich and varied experiences on this journey. I met family, friends and colleagues along the way. I made new friends along the way. I enjoyed four weeks renewing my long association with Pakistan and its people, their love and affection, their struggles and their challenges. I journeyed from afar with my brother, John, and his family, in his final illness, and had the privilege of celebrating his funeral Mass with the huge crowd of family, relatives, friends, neighbours from near and far who gathered to honour his goodness and decency and to support us in our grief and loss. Given my provenance of being overweight, desk-bound and averse to physical exercise, I achieved what was the unlikely goal of walking 1,000kms of the Camino Mozarabe from Granada to Santiago de Compostella, almost the entire length of Spain from south to north! I spent a month doing a Biblical Formation course at Ecce Homo in the heart of the Old City of Jerusalem.

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me. (Jn 14:6)

On many evenings in these last months I have gladly taken time and effort to share with you my journey, my thoughts, my reflections. I thank you for your faithfulness and love in following me along the way. These 176 posts are a record of my pilgrim journey in text and photos. They form a deep well from which I can continue to draw nourishment in the coming months and years.

Jesús le dijo: Yo soy el camino, y la verdad, y la vida; nadie viene al Padre sino por mí. (Juan 14:6) [Spanish]

As I go forwards, I may make an occasional post that gathers my reflections as I look back on that journey. However, now that I am moving from pilgrim/sabbatical/holiday mode to my regular daily life and work, the almost daily posts and updates will cease.

Jésus lui dit: Je suis le chemin, la vérité, et la vie. Nul ne vient au Père que par moi. (Jean 14:6) [French]

I ask God to bless all those who by their generosity made this journey possible. I ask God to bless all those who hosted me along the way. I ask God to bless all those who were kind to me along the way. I ask God to bless all those who thought of me, prayed for me, showed concern for me, encouraged me, kept in touch with me, and journeyed with me along the way, which includes all of you who have been following this blog. I have enjoyed sharing my journey and my reflections with you. I hope you have found them interesting and helpful in your own journeys in the pilgrimage of life.

Gesù gli disse: « Io sono la via, la verità e la vita. Nessuno può venire al Padre, se non per mezzo mio. (Giovanni 14:6) [Italian]

Now that I am returned to Sydney and will be resuming my regular daily work, this particular pilgrimage/sabbatical/holiday journey has come to an end. But rather than seeing it as “ended”, as “finished”, as “over and done with”, I am rather trying to see it is a “new beginning”. I am not simply going back to work, as if nothing has happened! Rather, I am going forwards to work, changed, refreshed, renewed, a new man, precisely because of all that has happened! Now I bring those rich and varied experiences of the past months into my work, my relationships, my play, my prayer. I continue the pilgrim journey of life, enriched, simplified, fitter, more deeply immersed in mystery.


یسوع نے جواب دیا ، “میں راستہ ہوں میں سچا ئی ہوں اور زندگی بھی۔ میں ہی ایک ذریعہ ہوں جس سے تم باپ کے پاس جا سکتے ہو۔
(یوحنا 14:6)
[Urdu]

For what has been, thanks. For what I have learned, faith. For what is to come, hope. For what is (and ever will be in each present moment), love.


فَقالَ لَهُ يَسُوعُ: «أنا هُوَ الطَّرِيِقُ وَالحَقُّ وَالحَياةُ. لا أحَدَ يَأْتِي إلَى الآبِ إلّا بِي.
(ﻳﻮﺣﻨﺎ 14:6)
[Arabic]

Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit, as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be. Amen.

5 thoughts on “New Beginning

  1. Diana green

    Thanks Pat I have thoroughly enjoyed reading all you have done in Jerusalem I spent three months as a volunteer at Ecce homo back in 2012 and you reminded me of it. Best wishes.

    Reply
  2. Reg Howard

    Dear Pat,

    Thank you for your faithfulness to the daily blog. I looked forward to it being here morning by morning and will now miss it.

    Reg

    ________________________________

    Reply
  3. Lorraine Murphy

    Welcome home Patrick.

    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading of your pilgrimage.

    Love & prayer as you take up your ministry again here. I am sure you are richer for all the experiences you have and fitter too!? Yes, I know I am being cheeky…

    Take good care,

    Lorraine with Peter Murphy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

